Wednesday, October 5

Barrow, Darboe, others nomination approved

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Prominent opposition members including the party leader of People’s Democratic Organisation for Independence and Socialism (PDOIS) Halifa Sallah and Mama Kandeh the leader of Gambia Moral Congress (GDC) as well as independent candidate and former Lead Counsel of the Truth, Reconciliation and Reparations Commission (TRRC0 Essa Faal nominations have been equally accepted subject to Section 46 (1) of the Election Act.
The six presidential candidates whose nominations have been accepted and deemed qualified for the 2021 presidential election are as follows below:

A.N.M. Ousainu Darboe
GDC Mama Kandeh
PDOIS Halifa Baboucarr Sallah
NPP Adama Barrow
Essa Mbaye Faal Independent
NUP Abdoulie Ebrima Jammeh

Meanwhile, 15 other aspirants were rejected by the IEC for failing to meet the required 200 registered voters in each region as appeared in the IEC’s voting system.
However, the party leader of Gambia Moral Congress GMC Mai Ahmed Fatty and the leader of Citizens Alliance CA Dr. Ismaila Ceesay have vowed to appeal IEC’s decision on their rejections.
Dr. Ceesay on his Facebook page said CA provided more than the 200 nominations votes in Banjul contrary to IEC’s claim of not having enough registered voters in the capital.
GMC leader Mr. Fatty also took to social media to express his disappointment on his rejection, saying IEC’s claim on insufficient required numbers for Banjul was “inaccurate.”
“The process is not yet over. I will file an immediate appeal against this wrongful decision,” Mai wrote on Facebook.
Below is the list of aspirants whose nominations were rejected by the IEC.

Joseph Henry- Joof Independent
Marie Sock- Independent
Alhaji Mamadi Kurang- Independent
Ebrima Tabora Manneh- Independent
Momodou Bah- Independent
Bankole Yao Jojo Ahadzie
ANRD- Lamin Satou Bojang
GMC- Mai Ahmed Fatty
Mamadi K.S. Camara- Independent
CA- Ismaila Ceesay
GANU- Sheikh Tijan Hydara
GAP- Alieu Sowe
Sheikh Matarr Nyang- Independent
Papa Faal- Independent
DP- Yusupha A. Dumbuya