Friday, March 24

Kaba Bajo elected GFF president for 3rd term

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

By Arfang M.S Camara

Incumbent Lamin Kaba Bajo has been re-elected president of the Gambia Football Federation for the third term during an elective congress held at the Paradise Suites Hotel in Kololi on Saturday.

Kaba got 51 votes as opposed to his challenger, Sadibou Kamaso 25 votes with one invalid vote.

Lamin Kaba Bajo was first voted in as GFF president in 2014 and won his second term in 2018, before Saturday’s victory to put him in charge of the highest position in the country’s football for the next four years, which runs till August 2026.

Bakary K. Jammeh and Ebou Faye were re-elected 1st and 2nd vice presidents respectively, after their challengers Arthur and Choro Mbenga withdrew.

Numukunda Kanyi was elected as 3rd vice president for the first time as his challenger Muhamadou Ceesay also withdrew.

After the amendment of the constitution before the election, Sainabou Cham, president of the Women’s Football Association was elected as the 4th vice president.

Ismaila Ceesay, president of School Football, was re-elected as an Executive Committee member unopposed, after his challenger, Pa Alieu Ceesay declined his candidacy.

Maimuna Kanteh was elected Women’s Representative 1 after Adama Jarju withdrew her candidature while Aret Njie Jah and Amie Jeng Njie’s election went ahead as Jeng Njie was not in the hall.

Aret Jah Njie defeated Amie Jeng Njie for Women’s Representative 2, 59 votes for Aret Njie to 10 for Jeng Njie.

Four members, who are Ramou Ndow, Chumban Faye, Momodou Musa Njai, and Col. Musa Jammeh, have been co-opted into the Executive Committee.

The leadership and staff of the Ministry congratulated Mr. Lamin Kaba Bajo for being re-elected as President of The Gambia Football Federation (GFF).

“The Ministry calls on the football stakeholders to set aside the differences that happened in the campaign and unite for the development of the game,” MOYS wrote on its official Facebook page.