Thursday, June 1

Mayoral and Chairmanship elections: UDP, NPP bracket in seats as IEC confirms official results –

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

By: Nyima Sillah

National People’s Party (NPP), and the United Democratic Party (UDP) bracket in the Saturday mayoral and chairmanship election as they both shared equal seats in the eight administrative areas/councils by securing four wins each to their parties.

The electorates decided after a massive campaign across all regions and voted wisely for their choice of candidates whereby the United Democratic Party (UDP) won two Mayoral seats and two chairmanship seats while the National People’s Party (NPP) won four chairmanship seats.

In its official announcement after the election, Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) declared Mayor Talib Bensouda (UDP) as the re-elected Mayor of Kanifing Municipal Council (KMC) securing 56,094 votes. Whilst his opponent (NPP) candidate Bakary Y Badjie scored 42,432 and the Independent candidate Pa Modou Mbowe gathered 5,092.

In Brikama Area Council, The report announced Yankuba Darboe (UDP) as the Chairman of Brikama Area Council with 77,946 votes, Yankuba Barrow (Ind) 1,341, Salieu Jallow (Ind) 1,022, Seedy Sheriff Ceesay (NPP) 52,429, Ahmed Gitteh (Ind) 6,718, Jainaba Bah (PPP) 2,023, Ibrahim J.S Sanneh (Ind) 24, 558, Baisey Sawo (Ind) 1,183 and Amadou Muhtar Cham (Ind) 1,127 with 11 invalid votes.

In Banjul City Council (BCC), the IEC announced Mayor Rohey Malick Lowe (UDP) as the re-elected Mayor of BCC with a vote of 8,299 and Ebou Faye, of National People’s Party (NPP) 6,992 votes.

The Official IEC Results for the Mansakonko Area Council (MKAC) announced Landing B. Sanneh of the United Democratic Party (UDP) as the Chairman with 17,017 votes and Kebba Dem, National People’s Party (NPP) with 13,757 votes.

Furthermore, in Kerewan Area Council, Papa Tunkara, of the National People’s Party (NPP) announced as Chairman with 24,130 votes, Malamin I.L Bojang, United Democratic Party (UDP) 22,572 votes, and Babou Kebbeh, Independent Candidate, 2,475 votes.

In the Kuntaur Area Council, IEC announced Saihou Jawara of the National People’s Party (NPP), as the Chairman with 13, 681 votes, Abdoulie Keita, Gambia for All (GFA) with 1,227 votes, and Alhagi S.B. Sillah, United Democratic Party (UDP) 10,365 votes.

 The official of the IEC in Janjanbureh Area Council report announced Sulayman Sawaneh, of the National People’s Party (NPP) as the Chairman with 11,924 votes, Haruna Barry, Gambia Democratic Congress (GDC) 2, 614 votes, Malick Sowe, United Democratic Party (UDP) 8,225 votes and Alhagie A. S. Boye, Independent Candidate 1,458 votes.

For the Basse Area Council results, the IEC announced Mahamadou Ceesay, of the National People’s Party (NPP) as the Chairman of Basse Area Council with 28,902 votes, Alhagie Karamo Touray, People’s Democratic Organization for Independence and Socialism (PDOIS) 3, 796 votes and Foday Danjo, United Democratic Party (UDP) 8, 947 votes