Friday, September 22

Sateba FC Crowned Champs of LRR Tourney

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Sateba FC of Soma has emerged winner of LRR Third Division regional league championship.

The final of the 2022/23 regional tourney was played 

at Soma mini stadium on Sunday with dignitaries such as the GFF’s First Vice President Mr. Bakary Jammeh in attendance.

Mr. Jammeh was at the head of a high-powered delegation from the GFF that went to Soma to watch the final game. The delegation included GFF’s 2nd Vice President Mr Ebou Faye and some top officials of the national football governing body.

Sateba FC walloped opponents Jappineh 4-0 to cap their scintillating performance in the regional tourney. 

The Sateba FC capped their top-notch outing with a trophy after dominating Jappineh FC in Sunday’s clash. Despite holding them to a stalemate for the entire first half Jappineh, who were one man down, succumbed to Sateba.

Abdulkadir Sabally opened the scoresheet after he converted a 54th-minute penalty. Lamin Kanteh made it two goals in the 76thminute of play while Ousman Jawla and Dawda Kanyi scored in the 87th and 90th minutes of the game, respectively to consolidate their victory.

Sateba earned 33 points in 11 matches, scoring 26 goals and conceding just 3 times. Bajana FC came second with 26 points while Jappineh FC finished 3rd with 22 points. 

Meanwhile, Kiang East and Jarra East earned 9 and 2 points, respectively, and, were consequently relegated.

As champions, Sateba FC received gold medals, a D75,000 cheque, and a giant trophy while runners-up Bajana FC received a D60,000 cheque as consolation. 

As champions, Sateba FC will represent the LRR in the GFF triangular playoffs for a place in the GFF’s Second Division League. 

Other awards included best player, leading goalscorer, and best goalkeeper. Certificates of appreciation were awarded to the GFF and other deserving institutions and individuals.

Meanwhile, the GFF delegation to Soma also included executive committee members Ms. Chumbane Faye, Ms. Maimuna Kanteh, and General Secretary Mr. Lamin M. Jassey.

NBRFA President Mr. Abu Khan and LRRFA President Mr. Ansumana Sanneh, Competitions Director Baboucarr Jobe, Referees Manager Seedy Manneh, and Competitions Match Coordinator NyawuruKomma all graced the occasion.