Friday, December 8

UTG Election: Three Disqualified Candidates Challenge UTGSU Electoral Commission’s Decision

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

By Buba Gagigo

In response to the UTGSU Electoral Commission’s decision to disqualify NYANINKA MANJANG, EBRIMA SAMA, and OUSMAN DRAMMEH, the trio submitted a motion and a Petition for Review to the Judicial Tribunal on November 6, 2023, seeking a reconsideration of the Commission’s rejection of their candidatures.

In their statement, they stated, “As per Section 49 of the Students’ Union Constitution, a motion has been filed before the Judicial Tribunal on the 6th day of November 2023 along with a Petition for Review of the Decision of the UTGSU Electoral Commission in disapproving the candidatures of the petitioners by NYANINKA MANJANG,1st applicant; EBRIMA SAMA, 2nd applicant; and OUSMAN DRAMMEH, 3rd applicant.”

They further explained, “Giving the urgency of this matter, the Judicial Tribunal deems it fit to hear the Ex-parte motion today, and a sitting will be subsequently scheduled for the hearing of the Petition in due course. As per Section 48(8) of the Students’ Union Constitution, the sittings of the Tribunal shall be open to all students on 7th November 2023 at 5:00 pm in the UTG Law Faculty-Moot Court,” the statement ended.